Tax Assessor's Office

the deadline for ​real estate and personal property tax payments has been delayed until June 1 with no interest.  

Governor Mills Executive Order of 3/31/20 extends the April 1, 2020 deadline to apply for:

Homestead Exemptions
Veterans Exemptions
Renewable Energy Equipment Exemptions
Tax Exemptions for Institutions and Organizations
Business Equipment Tax Exemptions (BETE)

The new deadline to apply for these is August 1st, 2020 
The Tax Assessor’s office is located in Room 115 of City Hall. This office can assist you online with detailed information on real estate and personal property tax assessments and property tax maps. The assessor's office also keeps track of ownership changes, maintains maps of parcel boundaries, keeps descriptions of buildings and property characteristics up to date, keeps track of individuals and properties eligible for exemptions and other forms of property tax relief and analyzes trends in sales prices, construction costs, and rents to estimate the value of all assessable property.

Property Tax & Records

For FY20, the total value of taxable property in Portland is $7.93 billion, which generates $184.9 million in property tax revenue to fund the operation of Maine’s largest city. The Assessor’s Department maintains tax records on approximately 24,000 real estate accounts, 4,000 business personal property accounts, and 481 tax maps.

Both real estate (land and buildings) and personal property (tangible goods) are subject to taxation, unless they are exempted by law or subject to another form of taxation, such as the excise tax for motor vehicles and boats. Since home furnishings are largely exempt from personal property taxes, the property tax bill for most Maine homeowners is based on the value of the land, the house and the outbuildings.

Mill Rate

Property taxes are levied according to a mill rate. The mill rate is the dollars/cents per $1,000 of value that you will pay in property taxes. The mill rate for FY20 (July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020) is $23.31 or .02331. For example, if you own a home valued at $100,000 then your tax bill will be $2,331 (or .02331 x 100,000).